Tuesday, 31 March 2015

TTT. Ten Books You Recently Added To Your To-Be-Read List

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.
I'm always adding new books to my to-be-read list. Aren't we, bookworms, always doing that? And, Goodreads is very helpful to keep track of the books added.


The last book I added to my TBR list was Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine. Fairytale retellings couldn't be missing from my TBR list. I've also recently added The Huntress of Thornbeck Forest by Melanie Dickerson, Monstrous by MarcyKate Conolly and Dearest by Alethea Kontis. 


Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell, Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire and Hopeless by Colleen Hoover are my latest contemporary readings added to the list. I've read good reviews about them, especially about "Eleanor & Park". Rainbow Rowell's books always receive great reviews. 


I've never read anything from Sarah J. Maas, but I've Throne of Glass on my list. I'll try to read if before "A Court of Thorns and Roses" is released. As a huge fan of Juliet Marillier, of course, I've already added Tower of Thorns to my list. I'm just waiting for May/June to pre-order my copy. Legacy Code by Autumn Kalquist is a dystopian book I've also added recently.

Sunday, 29 March 2015

Bookish Kinda News 1. Funko Pop! Vinyl Harry Potter

To all Potterheads out there, Funko Pop! Vinyl is launching this year the cutest Harry Potter figures. This new line made its debut at Toy Fair and will include Harry, Hermione, Ron, Albus, Hagrid, Snape and Voldemort (the last missing in the image). On July 31th, the day the famous wizard was born, these figures will be released. However, it's already available for pre-order. As a Potterhead and Funko Pop Vinyl lover, I can't wait to have my own figures. I'm pretty sure they will all look amazing in our bookshelves. 

Friday, 27 March 2015

FairyTale Retellings - Beauty & The Beast

Fairytale Retellings is a place to discuss all those beautiful fairy tales that were rewritten by wonderful authors. Today, I'll write about "Beauty and the Beast", one of my favorite fairy tales.

Once Upon a Time - Beauty & The Beast

"Beauty and the Beast" ("La Belle et la Bête") was written by French novelist Jeanne-Marie Leprince de Beaumont and it was published for the first time in 1756. There are many variants of this story, as it usually happens with this kind of tales. I first fell in love with it this fairytale after watching the Disney movie of the same name. Only many years later I discovered the tale which gave life to the movie and to many books based on it.

The Retellings

I read my first "Beauty and the Beast" retelling back in 2010. It was Heart's Blood by Juliet Marillier and until today it's one of my favourite books. I just feel in love with Caitrin and Anluan's story. I keep recommending it over and over again. So, if you never read it and wish to, just click here. It's an amazing book and it's worth the money.

Last year, I found Cruel Beauty, written by Rosamund Pike. A retelling mixed with Greek mythology? It had everything to be one of my favourites. I also love Greek mythology. And, indeed, it became one of my favourite readings of 2014, even though I felt the ending wasn't enough. I felt something was missing. 

A few months ago, I read Of Beast and Beauty by Stacey Jay. It has one of most beautiful covers I've ever seen - along with "Cruel Beauty". What I enjoyed the most in this book was that you couldn't be sure which role had each character. Who was Beauty? Who was the Beast? 

Now, I'm waiting for A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas to be released. Many people were lucky and received an ARC, but I didn't and May is still so far away... I confess that I've high expectations (and I really hate have high expectations). Hopefully, it won't disappoint me. My fingers are crossed!

There are two more "Beauty and the Beast" retellings that I wish to read, Beauty and the Beast by K.M. Shea and Beastly by Alex Flinn. Have you read any of these? What did you think of them? 

What I love the most about these retellings is that the authors picked different details (such as the rose, the mirror, the curse) from the original tale and used them to create universes completely different even if they were inspired by the same story.

Which "Beauty and the Beast" retelling is your favorite? 

***You can find many other retellings of this fairy tale in this link. The books I mentioned in this article are the ones I read/wish to read.

Wednesday, 25 March 2015

Waiting on Wednesday - A Court of Thorns and Roses

"Waiting on Wednesday" is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.

This week on WoW is "A Court of Thorns and Roses" by Sarah J. Maas. I swear, I'm counting the days until its release. "Beauty and the Beast" is one of my favourite fairy tales and I love reading re-tellings of that story. If you are like me, you should take a look at books such as "Heart's Blood" by Juliet Marillier and "Cruel Beauty" by Rosamund Hodge.

http://www.bookdepository.com/9781619634442/?a_aid=mylovelysecret
"A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she's been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!"
From Goodreads

Tuesday, 17 March 2015

TTT. Top Ten Books On My Spring TBR List

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.
Five Books Coming Out This Spring

A Court of Thorns and Roses (A Court of Thorns and Roses, #1)Crimson BoundEtherworld (Elusion, #2)
I already pre-ordered my hardback copy of "A Court of Thorns and Roses" by Sarah J. Maas and I'm counting the days till I can hold it. I love reading a retelling of "Beauty and the Beast". "Crimson Bound" by Rosamund Pike is another fairytale retelling that I'm dying to read - who didn't love "Cruel Beauty"? "Etherworld" by Claudia Gable & Cheryl Klam, which will be released on March 31th, is also part of my reading list. I'm hoping for a less-annoying Regan. 

The Fill-In BoyfriendP.S. I Still Love You (To All the Boys I've Loved Before, #2)
After reading "To All the Boys I've Loved Before", I went looking for books alike on Goodreads and ended up tripping over "The Fill-In Boyfriend" by Kasie West. Who doesn't love a good fake relationship? And, of course, "P.S. I Still Love You" by Jenny Hann. That ending...I mean, that cliffhanger just killed me!

"A Court of Thorns and Roses", "Crimson Bound" & "The Fill-In Boyfriend" will be all release on May 5th.  How will I choose which book to read first?!

Five Books I Already Own

First of all, Magic Study by Maria V. Snyder, so that I can read "Fire Study" and then "Shadow Study", which was released just last month. It's clear that I loved "Poison Study". Just give me tons of Yelena & Valek and I may die happy.

"Invaded" by Melissa Landers is another sequel I want to read this Spring. I haven't read it yet because I found a few bad reviews and I really don't want to be disappointed. And Juliet Marillier couldn't be missing from this list. I'll finally read "Son of the Shadows" after reading "Daughter of the Forest" so many years ago.

Which books will you be reading this Spring? :)

Tuesday, 10 March 2015

Tempo de Mudança...Time For a Change

Quando criei este blogue em 2010 não estava à espera de cinco anos depois raramente - bem, quase nunca - escrever opiniões. Raras são as ocasiões em que publico algo novo por aqui, a não ser que esteja a participar num "read-a-thon" (quando participo num "read-a-thon" todas as minhas publicações são escritas em inglês). Contudo, não quero dizer adeus a este blog. Para tal decicidi que a partir de agora todas as publicações serão escritas em inglês. Não só porque já há algum tempo que leio mais em inglês do que em português, mas também por ser uma forma de melhorar o meu inglês e de comunicar com um maior número de blogues literários.

Não posso prometer que vou estar mais presente ou escrever opinião atrás de opinão (costumo escrever mini-opinões no Goodreads; e quando digo mini-opiniões, são mesmo mini). Mas espero continuar a partilhar o meu amor por histórias. 


When I created this blog back in 2010, I wasn't expecting that five years later I would rarely - well, never - write reviews. Seldom are the moments I publish something new, unless I'm participating in a read-a-thon (when I participate in a read-a-thon all my updates are wrote in English). However, I don't want to say goodbye to this blog. I decided that from now on all my updates will be written in English. Not only because I've been reading a lot more in English than in Portuguese, but also because it will help me improve my English and to communicate with a larger number of literary blogs.

I can't promise I will be more present or that I will writer review after review (usually, I write mini-reviews on Goodreads; and when I say mini-review, they really are mini). However, I hope to keep sharing my love for stories.