28 July 2020

TTT. 14 Upcoming YA Standalone Books I Can't Wait to Read

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Artsy Reader Girl.

Welcome to my first Top Ten Tuesday of the year! Gosh, I can't remember the last time I joined this meme. 🤔 Today's topic was left to our imagination (it's freebie week!) and after some thinking, I decided to talk about upcoming standalone books that I can't wait to read. As far as I know, all the books I mention are standalone novels, but you never know. A sequel might be announced after the release or a companion novel might be in the works. But for now, they are just standalone books.

Among the Beasts & Briars by Ashley Poston. This book gives me so many fairy-tale vibes! A far-off land, a cursed forest, magic, and an annoying fox that I think that will be a prince (just like in "The Frog Prince").

Winter, White, and Wicked by Shannon Dittemore. I may dislike Frozen (minus Olaf and Sven), but I do love Mad Max: Fury Road. I quite like the idea of perpetual winter, icy spirits, and a girl that will do whatever it takes to save her friend. I'm always happy to find a story that praises female friendship.

Elatsoe by Darcie Little Badger. The world building caught my attention. An America shaped by the magic, monsters, knowledge, and legends of its peoples, those Indigenous and those not? I love myths and monsters too much to resist it.
Vampires Never Get Old: Tales with Fresh Bite edited by Zoraida Córdova & Natalie C. Parker. I know that Vampires Never Get Old is an anthology, but I think I can consider it a standalone book, right? 🤔 I've been talking about this anthology since last year. I can't believe I only have to wait one more month until its release -- and there's a podcast about this book that will make the wait tolerable.

A Cuban Girl's Guide to Tea and Tomorrow by Laura Taylor Namey. I would lie if I didn't say that the first thing that caught my attention was the cover. I just loved the pastel hues. 😍 Then, I read "food" and "England" and I just knew I wanted to read A Cuban Girl's Guide to Tea and Tomorrow. Is it me or is this title formula becoming too common?

The Forest of Ghosts and Bones by Lisa Lueddecke. The blurb for this standalone book mentions every single reason why I picked it: "inspired by the Hungarian myths," "a world with a haunted castle, a dark and dangerous forest and poisoned rain, with two fiery protagonists to root for", and "a book perfect for fans of Naomi Novik and Laini Taylor."

The Reckless Life of Harriet Stoker by Lauren James. I'm a reader with simple tastes. If a book says "death" and "ghosts," I'm in.

Sia Martinez and the Moonlit Beginning of Everything by Raquel Vasquez Gilliland. When I first saw this book, I thought it was a story about loss and how deportation affects one's life (a very important topic that should be discussed more often). But then, the synopsis also mentions aliens and magical realism, and I'm very much intrigued about how everything will unfold.

Star Daughter by Shveta Thakrar. As I mentioned in February, this book caught my attention due to its stunning cover. 😍 However, after reading its enthralling summary, I fell in love with it. Hindu-mythology and celestial courts? I said it before and I'm saying it again: Star Daughter will be all kinds of epic-ness!

All This Time by Mikki Daughtry & Rachel Lippincott. I'm sure you're surprised because this is the second contemporary book without a drop of magic that I mention. I'm a fantasy/sci-fi/dystopia/gothic girl, but All This Time just seems so much heartbreak and sometimes all we need is a book that breaks our heart.
These Vengeful Hearts by Katherine Laurin. Have I ever mention that I'm fond of books that take place in boarding/elite schools? There are always some pretty dark secrets behind these walls. Also, it doesn't hurt that this upcoming standalone novel seems to make several references to Alice's Adventures in Wonderland.

The Bitterwine Oath by Hannah West. Creepy cover! I think it might feature a snake skull, but  I will ignore that for now... Anyway, I loved all the dark, mysterious, and murderous vibes from the summary. I'm already rooting for Nat to stop the evil that haunts her town.

The Afterlife of the Party by Marlene Perez. I told you that vampires are coming back in 2020! 😜 I can't lie: the only reason The Afterlife of the Party made my list of upcoming standalone novels I can't wait to read it's because it's a vampire book. And, once again, it's also a book about strong female friendship and we need more of that. Females are friends, not rivals.

A Curse of Roses by Diana Pinguicha. I mentioned A Curse of Roses when I shared my list of 2020 releases that I'm dying to read. Back then, it had a different title (A Miracle of Roses) and the cover had yet to be announced. Now, I can share you the beautiful cover of this retelling of a Portuguese legend and I truly hope everyone adds it to their wishlist and/or pre-orders it.

Related Blog Post: Can't Wait Books of 2020

Do you enjoy standalone books or are you a series reader? Are you excited about any of these standalone books? If so, which one(s)?

If you like my blog and would like to support it, you may use my Book Depository Affiliate Link or buy me a coffee
You may also buy some bookish items from my RedBubble store
 

14 comments:

  1. I'm also looking forward to Vampires Never Get Old.

    My TTT .

    ReplyDelete
  2. I am excited about Cuban Girl's Guide. I like Namey's debut and this one sounds even better to me. I will probably read All This Time at some point, you know, when I feel the need to ugly cry or something.

    ReplyDelete
  3. I hope you enjoy all of these when you finally get to read them!

    ReplyDelete
  4. I haven't heard of a lot of these, but I am excited for the SIA MARTINEZ one. I know it's set here in Arizona and is about deportation, which is a huge, divisive issue in this state. Aliens and magical realism? Now, I'm REALLY interested to read this book!

    Happy TTT!

    ReplyDelete
  5. These all sound really good. I'm especially excited for All The Time and Among The Beasts and Briars.

    ReplyDelete
  6. I hope you love all these! Sia Martinez is high on my priority list too. It sounds brilliant.

    Aj @ Read All The Things!

    ReplyDelete
  7. I can't wait for Vampires Never Get Old and The Afterlife of the Party! I'm always up for new vampire books and I'm so glad that YA publishers decided they're worth it again :D

    ReplyDelete
  8. SOOO many of these are on my list! I pre-ordered Harriet Stoker, and have a few for review, so fingers crossed. I really liked Star Daughter, so hopefully you will too! This is an awesome list!

    ReplyDelete
  9. So many of these look fantastic. Lately, I need standalones---I just can't invest in a series right now!

    Nicole @ Feed Your Fiction Addiction

    ReplyDelete
  10. Yay for standalones! Though I love the extra page time a series gives you with characters and fantastical worlds, I have such commitment issues when it comes to continuing on with series!
    Wow, did not realize there were so may amazing-sounding YA standalones coming out soon! Love this list! :) Just added A Curse of Roses, Winter, White and Wicked, and Elatsoe to my TBR list!

    ReplyDelete
  11. Your site is gorgeous! And how are so many of these new to me?? So many beautiful covers, too. I'm very intrigued by A Cuban Girl's Guide.

    ReplyDelete
  12. I am really excited about Vampires Never Get Old. The Reckless Afterlife of Harriett Stoker also sounds amazing, and I don't think I'd heard of it before. I do like a good series here and there, but I do much better with stand-alones.

    -Lauren
    www.shootingstarsmag.net

    ReplyDelete
  13. Wow so many beautiful covers <3 I really like the sound of A Curse of Roses, too :)

    ReplyDelete
  14. I only had about 3 of these books on my TBR before I read your post (shocking, I know) but all of the pretty covers and the little bits you've mentioned about each means I might be doing more book shopping than I intended to.

    ReplyDelete