30 June 2020

ARC Review // Mexican Gothic

 
Title: Mexican Gothic
Author: Silvia Moreno-Garcia
Publisher: Jo Fletcher Books
Published: 30th June 2020
Pages: 352

An isolated mansion. A chillingly charismatic artistocrat. And a brave socialite drawn to expose their treacherous secrets. . . .

From the author of Gods of Jade and Shadow comes “a terrifying twist on classic gothic horror” (Kirkus Reviews) set in glamorous 1950s Mexico—“fans of classic novels like Jane Eyre and Rebecca are in for a suspenseful treat” (PopSugar).
After receiving a frantic letter from her newly-wed cousin begging for someone to save her from a mysterious doom, Noemí Taboada heads to High Place, a distant house in the Mexican countryside. She’s not sure what she will find—her cousin’s husband, a handsome Englishman, is a stranger, and Noemí knows little about the region.

Noemí is also an unlikely rescuer: She’s a glamorous debutante, and her chic gowns and perfect red lipstick are more suited for cocktail parties than amateur sleuthing. But she’s also tough and smart, with an indomitable will, and she is not afraid: Not of her cousin’s new husband, who is both menacing and alluring; not of his father, the ancient patriarch who seems to be fascinated by Noemí; and not even of the house itself, which begins to invade Noemi’s dreams with visions of blood and doom.

Her only ally in this inhospitable abode is the family’s youngest son. Shy and gentle, he seems to want to help Noemí, but might also be hiding dark knowledge of his family’s past. For there are many secrets behind the walls of High Place. The family’s once colossal wealth and faded mining empire kept them from prying eyes, but as Noemí digs deeper she unearths stories of violence and madness.

And Noemí, mesmerized by the terrifying yet seductive world of High Place, may soon find it impossible to ever leave this enigmatic house behind.

27 June 2020

Book Review // Grave Mercy

 
Title: Grave Mercy
Author: Robin LaFevers
Publisher: HMH Books for Young Readers
Republished: 2nd October 2018
Pages: 576

Why be the sheep, when you can be the wolf?

Seventeen-year-old Ismae escapes from the brutality of an arranged marriage into the sanctuary of the convent of St. Mortain, where the sisters still serve the gods of old. Here she learns that the god of Death Himself has blessed her with dangerous gifts—and a violent destiny. If she chooses to stay at the convent, she will be trained as an assassin and serve as a handmaiden to Death. To claim her new life, she must destroy the lives of others.

Ismae’s most important assignment takes her straight into the high court of Brittany—where she finds herself woefully under prepared—not only for the deadly games of intrigue and treason, but for the impossible choices she must make. For how can she deliver Death’s vengeance upon a target who, against her will, has stolen her heart?

23 June 2020

Cover Reveal. The Theft of Sunlight


I'm feeling terribly awful! I was supposed to share with you the cover reveal of The Theft of Sunlight yesterday, but the materials were sent to my spam box! I kept refreshing my mailbox yesterday all day long (I even though my blog had not been picked because I was on a hiatus) and only today did I have the bright idea of checking my spam box. Nevertheless, even though I'm a day behind, behold the beautiful cover of the first book of this duology companion to Thorn (one of my favourite books of 2020) and don't forget to join the giveaway.

21 June 2020

Sunday Post. The Hiatus Might Be Over

Sunday Post is a meme hosted by Caffeinated Book Reviews.
Long time, no see. How many times have I already used this expression? 🤔 If you are following me on twitter, I decided to take a short break. I made this decision because I had a research essay (which will hopefully be published) and a report to write, but also due to lack of blogging of inspiration (I really don't know what to write about - any ideas?). Since now I have a little bit of more free time, I'm hoping I can give this little corner the love it deserves.

30 April 2020

Monthly Wrap-Up. April

Can you believe May is here already?! I think April was the first month of the year that flew by to me (or perhaps it was only the second half of it that flew by). 😊 Anyway, I didn't keep my promise of joining Sunday Post every week, but at least I did my part regarding the global pandemic and stayed at home - as an introvert bookworm, I'm very good staying at home. I'm just sad that I didn't read as much as I was hoping to.

22 April 2020

ARC Review // Lobizona

 
Title: Lobizona
Author: Romina Garber
Publisher: Wednesday Books
Published: 4th August 2020
Pages: 400

Some people ARE illegal.

Lobizonas do NOT exist.

Both of these statements are false.

Manuela Azul has been crammed into an existence that feels too small for her. As an undocumented immigrant who's on the run from her father's Argentine crime-family, Manu is confined to a small apartment and a small life in Miami, Florida.

Until Manu's protective bubble is shattered.

Her surrogate grandmother is attacked, lifelong lies are exposed, and her mother is arrested by ICE. Without a home, without answers, and finally without shackles, Manu investigates the only clue she has about her past--a mysterious "Z" emblem—which leads her to a secret world buried within our own. A world connected to her dead father and his criminal past. A world straight out of Argentine folklore, where the seventh consecutive daughter is born a bruja and the seventh consecutive son is a lobizón, a werewolf. A world where her unusual eyes allow her to belong.

As Manu uncovers her own story and traces her real heritage all the way back to a cursed city in Argentina, she learns it's not just her U.S. residency that's illegal. . . .it's her entire existence.

20 April 2020

ARC Review // Feathertide

 
Title: Feathertide
Author: Beth Cartwright
Publisher: Del Rey
Published: 30th July 2020
Pages: 432

A girl.

A secret.

A life-changing journey.


Born covered in the feathers of a bird, and kept hidden in a crumbling house full of secrets, Marea has always known she was different, but never known why. And so to find answers, she goes in search of the father she has never met.

The hunt leads her to the City of Murmurs, a place of mermaids and mystery, where jars of swirling mist are carried through the streets by the broken-hearted.

And Marea will never forget what she learns there

Feathertide is an enchanting, magical novel perfect for fans of Erin Morgenstern's The Night Circus and Katherine Arden's The Bear and the Nightingale.