17 January 2021

ARC Review // Five Reasons You Should Read Cast in Firelight

 
Title: Cast in Firelight [book depository | amazon]
Author: Dana Swift
Publisher: Delacorte Press
Published: 19th January 2021
Pages: 448 pages
 
The first book in an epic, heart-pounding fantasy duology about two royal heirs betrothed to be married, but whose loyalties are torn, and a ruthless enemy who threatens their world, perfect for fans of Sabaa Tahir, Hafsah Faizal, and Renée Ahdieh.

Adraa is the royal heir of Belwar, a talented witch on the cusp of taking her royal ceremony test, and a girl who just wants to prove her worth to her people.

Jatin is the royal heir to Naupure, a competitive wizard who's mastered all nine colors of magic, and a boy anxious to return home for the first time since he was a child.

Together, their arranged marriage will unite two of Wickery's most powerful kingdoms. But after years of rivalry from afar, Adraa and Jatin only agree on one thing: their reunion will be anything but sweet.

Only, destiny has other plans and with the criminal underbelly of Belwar suddenly making a move for control, their paths cross...and neither realizes who the other is, adopting separate secret identities instead.

Between dodging deathly spells and keeping their true selves hidden, the pair must learn to put their trust in the other if either is to uncover the real threat. Now Wickery's fate is in the hands of rivals..? Fiancées..? Partners..? Whatever they are, it's complicated and bound for greatness or destruction.

5 January 2021

TTT. 13 Amazing 2021 Middle Grade Adventures

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Artsy Reader Girl.

Happy New Year! Wishing everyone a not-so-crazy 2021 and that all your delayed plans may come true. 😊 I wanted to share with you all the books I can't wait to be published in 2021, but there are so many new novels I want to gush about that I did complete my list for today's Top Ten Tuesday. Thus, I decided to share thirteen middle grade novels coming out this year that I really want to read. When will I ever restrain myself to ten books? 😇
 

31 December 2020

Monthly (and Yearly) Wrap Up. December

Happy New Year's Eve! 🥳 Still remember me? No, I didn't give up on blogging after my 10th blogversary (although it might have seen like I did since I have not shared new content nor blog hooped in the last two months). Life was a bit busy, aka I began a course that took all of my free time, so I had to take a mini blogging break. I don't like taking breaks (I fear everyone will forget about me), but sometimes it's very hard to jumble my PhD / work and blogging together. Hopefully, 2021 will be a year filled with lots of new content.

27 October 2020

ARC Review // Five Reasons You Should Read Kingdom of the Wicked

 
Title: Kingdom of the Wicked [book depository | amazon]
Author: Kerri Maniscalco
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Published: 27th October 2020
Pages: 448 [Hardcover]

Two sisters.

One brutal murder.

A quest for vengeance that will unleash Hell itself…

And an intoxicating romance.

Emilia and her twin sister Vittoria are streghe – witches who live secretly among humans, avoiding notice and persecution. One night, Vittoria misses dinner service at the family’s renowned Sicilian restaurant. Emilia soon finds the body of her beloved twin…desecrated beyond belief. Devastated, Emilia sets out to find her sister’s killer and to seek vengeance at any cost-even if it means using dark magic that’s been long forbidden.

Then Emilia meets Wrath, one of the Wicked-princes of Hell she has been warned against in tales since she was a child. Wrath claims to be on Emilia’s side, tasked by his master with solving the series of women’s murders on the island. But when it comes to the Wicked, nothing is as it seems…

25 October 2020

Sunday Post. Bustling Octobers

Sunday Post is a meme hosted by Caffeinated Book Reviews.

Hello, fellow bookworms! How are you doing? Can you believe spooky August is almost over?! 👻 I know it has been a long time since I've joined Sunday Post -- I've actually been keeping myself very busy, so there's a lot to share. Without any further delay, let me share with you what I've been up since my monthly recap.

17 October 2020

Review & Blog Tour. A Golden Fury

Welcome to A Golden Fury Blog Tour hosted by Wednesday Books. Thank you to Meghan Harrington for inviting me to be part of this amazing tour. I'm really excited about being part of it. Is it me, or this is my first blog tour of the year? Anyway, today I bring you my review of this tale of a sinister curse and treacherous alchemists.

13 October 2020

This is Halloween. 21 Spooky Reads (2020 Edition)


Who is excited about Halloween?! I'm back with Spooky Reads recommendations and this time I'm sharing them with you before Halloween. 🎃 If you are searching for books about wicked witches (and not-so-wicked witches), creepy haunted places inhabited by harrowing monsters and angry ghosts (and not-so-angry ghosts), or vampires that will suck you dry (or just take a bite), here is a list of 21 spooky reads that will raise your excitement for Halloween.