ARC Review // All These Beautiful Strangers by Elizabeth Klehfoth

Thursday, 5 July 2018


Title: All These Beautiful Strangers
Author: Elizabeth Klehfoth
Publisher: Penguin
Published: July 12th 2018
Pages: 512 pages

"Beneath the glittering heights of the rich and powerful, lie secrets that can destroy them all...

The perfect summer beach read, for fans of Cruel Intentions, The Secret History and One of Us is Lying.

Charlie Calloway has a life most people would kill for. A tight knit family. A loyal set of friends. A fast-track to whichever college she chooses. But Charlie isn't interested in what most people want.

She's a Calloway. She's special. And she's been taught to want more.

So when she's invited to join an exclusive secret society, her determination to get in is matched only by her conviction that she belongs there. But behind their mysterious facade is a history of lies which unravels everything Charlie thought she knew... including the story behind her mother's disappearance ten years ago.
"

No one knows what happened to Grace Calloway. All These Beautiful Strangers follows Charlie's search for the truth about what happened her mother ten years after she went missing. However, Charlie learns that some doors should never be open.

PROS

Boarding School. Who doesn't love a story set in a boarding school? I don't know how to explain (there really isn't a reason why), but I quite enjoy when authors choose a boarding school as the setting. The halls are always full of secrets to be unveiled and past ghosts that still haunt the present.

The A's. Another concept that always grabs my attention is an anonymous club. Of course these avengers turned corrupted down the line, but I still enjoy the concept.
To go back in time. The author jumps from past to present in order to reveal Charley' family history (who were her parents, how did they meet, who are the cold hearted Calloways) and the secrets around her mother's disappearance. Moreover, there are other perspectives and that made the plot so much more interesting - talking about the plot, it  was very twisty.

CONS

Charlie. She really isn't a likeable character. She's a rich spoiled brat. She's pretentious and arrogant. She's mean to her "friends" - she really doesn't respect them or their backgrounds (she's always picking on one of her friends that has a scholarship for trying too hard). There were a few times that she acted as if she were superior to everyone else. All of Charlie's vices are acknowledged by the author, but I still felt like slapping her a couple of times.

Thank you to NetGalley and the publisher for providing me with a review copy in exchange for an honest review.

2 comments :

  1. I love boarding school books (why? I have no idea), but I need to like the characters. Does Charlie grow over the course of the book? If she did, I could forgive her shortcomings in the beginning of the book.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I'm really looking forward to this book, and I also love boarding school stories. It's a pity about the heroine, though :(

    Great review, glad you mostly enjoyed the story!

    ReplyDelete