7 July 2020

Book Tag. Mid-Year Freaking Out Book Tag


Is it okay to do the Mid-Year Freak Out Book Tag in July? Since I haven't been reading much, I decided to wait until the end of June to gush about all the books I read so far. I just wanted to have one or two more books to answer the questions with. I still don't know who created this awesome tag (once again, if you know, please share with me so that I can give them the deserved credit). That said, get ready for a great deal of fangirling, cute gifts and the occasional cat or two.
 

What is the best book you've read so far in 2020?

Last year, I refused to only pick one book. This year, I also refusing to only pick one book. Even though I haven't been reading much lately, there have been a lot of disappointing books. However, in this mess of disappointing books, I was able read these four wonderful gems and I must share them with you as many times as I can because they stole my heart. Ps. I'm not including The Hunger Games trilogy on this answer since it was a re-read and everyone already knows how much I love it.

What has been your favourite sequel of the first half of the year?

Sequel? What is a "sequel"? 🤔 🤭 Some things just don't change... I will always and forever be bad at reading sequels. I'm so embarrassed to say that so far I have only read the two sequels of The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins. I loved Catching Fire and Mockingjay with all my heart - even if they shattered it in a thousand pieces and I may have shed some tears at the last scene with Buttercup (I'm on a new level of crazy cat lady).

Poor Buttercup. 😭
  
Is there a new release that you haven't read yet but you're really excited for?

A new release? There are a hundred new releases that I haven't read yet, but I can't wait to get my hands on them. Although I have been graced by the bookish Gods and Netgalley has given me access to upcoming releases that I would sell my soul to read NOW! 😋 Anyway, here are some new releases (yes, I could not only mention one) that I'm really excited for:
Related blog post: Can't Wait Books of 2020


What is your most anticipated release for the second half of the year?

Only one book? I guess not. 😋 I'm still the same indecisive person I was last year and I no longer try to force myself to reduce my answers to one book. As last year, I decided to pick a book coming out in each month of the second half of the year. So, here are some of my most anticipated releases for the second half of the year:

What is your biggest disappointment so far?
 
I feel so bad for writing this, but my biggest disappointment so far was Spectacle by Jodie Lynn Zdrok. When I joined this tag last year, I could not stop talking about Spectacle. Having finally read it, I was disappointed with Nathalie, the main character. I understand that learning that she had a gift must have been scary. However, when young innocent women are dying and your gift may help discover who the killer is, refusing it seemed so selfish. Also, being mad at your friend because she told you that does not make you seem "spoiled" at all (yes, I'm being sarcastic). Perhaps, if Nathalie didn't spend so many chapters refusing her gift and convincing herself it was the right thing to do for her, I would not have rolled my eyes at her and loved Spectacle as much as I wanted to.


What is your biggest surprise so far?
 
The Bone Houses by Emily Lloyd-Jones. More often than I would like to admit, I go through a strike of bad books. Not that they are bad, I'm just not able to enjoy the story. I read The Bone Houses after such a strike, so I can tell you that my hopes weren't very high when I picked it from my never-ending book pile. But Ryn and Ellis and their adventure into the heart of the mountains to end a curse were all kinds of epic-ness. Whoever said this book was perfect for fans of V.E. Schwab got is perfectly right. The beautiful prose reminded me so much of The Near Witch.


Who is your favourite new to you, or debut author?

I don't know how you do it, but it's so hard to pick just a favourite author because every writer shares with us these different and wonderful stories. In the last six months, I fell in love with Emily Lloyd Jones, Ellen Oh, and Zoraida Córdova. I also just finished the most wonderful book that I can't wait to gush about, but since I read it in July and not in June I can't tell how much I loved Janella Angeles. Oh, wait, I just did it. 😋


A book that made you cry?

As I explained last year, books rarely make me cry. Unless a book features the death of an animal (or animal cruelty, or any scene that portrays a sad animal), I don't cry. Now, as I mentioned above, I may have shed a few tears at the last scene with Buttercup in Mockinjay.

Why do people hurt animals?!

A book that made you happy?

I feel I'm repeating myself with every answer I give. So far this year, I haven't read any contemporary books, the genre that usually makes me happy. So, once again, you can see how this might be a difficult question for me to answer. Gosh, I didn't remember this tag being so dificult. 😅 I hope it's okay if I leave this question in blank.


Your favourite book to film/TV show that you've seen so far?

I love watching series, but this year I just haven't been in the mood. However, I have been rewatching the films in the Conjuring universe (Ed and Lorraine Warren have written extensively about their cases, but I never read any of their books), getting ready for the The Conjuring: The Devil Made Me Do It. I really enjoy how spooky Annabelle: Creation is. After The Nun, it probably is the scariest film in the series. Or probably it is the most scarier. It's really difficult to decide!
Why would anyone want a doll that looks like this?!

What is your favourite post that you've written so far this year?

I haven't written nor shared many posts this year because of all the research essays I have been working on (and at the begining of January I lost my Faúlha and I just hadn't the will to blog). I hope I can write engaging posts in the next six months. 🤔 I do have many unfinished drafts that I can't wait to put together and share with you. Anyway, of the few posts I shared with you in the last six months, my favourite one has to be the one in which I complain about snakes taking over book covers.


What is the most beautiful book that you've bought?

Have you noticed that as the years go by, book covers get prettier and prettier? 😍 It's hard to resist to all the pretty books!!! However, as you know, I haven't bought many books since the year began, so I don't have many books to choose from. This year I will have to pick The Shape of My Name by Nino Cipri. It's such a peaceful cover and I love this green hues. Ps. Last year I also picked a book whose cover featured a bird. I think we have a trend. 🐦



What are six books you want to read by the end of the year?

There are so many books I want to read before the end of the year. I haven't read much in the last six months (the pandemic makes you stay at home, but you're so concerned about everything that you just don't have the will to read), but I will work very hard to reach my Goodreads goals aka must read 70 books in a year. As last year, it was very hard for me to narrow down this list only to six books. However, after a long monologue (my cats have officially declared me insane), I did it. So, here are the six books that I wish to read before 2020 ends:

I know a lot of book lovers have already joined this tag, but, just like last year, I'm tagging:
 
Have you read or want to read any of the books I mentioned? What has been your favourite book read in 2020 so far?
 
If you like my blog and would like to support it, you may use my Book Depository Affiliate Link or buy me a coffee.
You may also buy some bookish items from my RedBubble store
 

14 comments:

  1. I cannot do without my go-to happy books. Maybe that's why I read contemporaries almost exclusively

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I need to read more happy books aka books that make me laugh.

      Happy readings! 😊

      Delete
  2. Sorry to hear you've had so many disappointing reads this year. I hope you'll have a better reading experience the second half of 2020.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thank you. I have high hopes for the second half of 2020.

      Happy readings! 😊

      Delete
  3. Yeay I'm glad you enjoyed Thorn so much! It is so very hard to pick books and authors for this tag.

    And thank you for the tag. I did already do it though :D

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It's so hard! I can never narrow down my choices to one book only.

      Happy readings!
      Tânia @MyLovelySecret

      Delete
  4. I keep seeing great things about Thorn, guess I'll have to add it to my list :D

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Please, do! I hope you end up loving it as much as I did.

      Happy readings! 😊

      Delete
  5. Hunted by The Sky sounds so good. I added that to my wishlist recently.
    Thanks for the tag! I haven't done this one... Think I'll do it next week. :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I hope we both enjoy Hunted by the Sky when we have the opportunity to read it. No need to thank. 😊 I can't wait to read your answers.

      Happy readings!

      Delete
  6. I just finished When Dreams Descend and am not surprised that Janella Angeles would be on your list of favorite new authors. That book was awesome and I cannot wait to talk about it. Hope you pick up some good books during the second half of the year!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. When Dreams Descend is the dark fantasy novel that I was missing in my life and didn't know! I can't wait to gush about it. ❤️

      Thank you. I have high hopes for the second half of the year.

      Happy readings! 😊

      Delete
  7. I've been loving reading everyone's Mid-Year Freak-out tags. Glad you loved Catching Fire and Mockingjay!

    Nicole @ Feed Your Fiction Addiction

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. The Hunger Games trilogy will forever and always be a favourite of mine.

      Happy readings! 😊

      Delete